A Land Flowing with Milk and Honey

Last night, after the long drive home from Pacifica, Josh and I begrudgingly stopped at Arco (the cheapest gas station around) to fill our gas tank with our lifesavings. $4.23 a gallon. Not even 2 weeks ago, it was $3.90. At this rate, gas will be $6.00 by August.

Anyway, I got out of the car, the attendant snatched the lifesavings from my hand, Josh filled it up, we had $1.75 change, I walked back to the attendant to get it b/c I am my mother’s daughter. I’m standing in line, waiting for the guy in front of me to get his life together and out of the corner of my eye, I see something flapping on the ground about 10 yards away from me.

It was money and from where I was standing, it didn’t look like a $1. I thought to myself, “What if it’s a $20 or something?” I didn’t go to it right away, I stood in line looking at it and then thought, “I need to go see what that is, it would be depressing if someone else walked by and thought THEY had been the one to find it.” So, I walked away from my spot in line (looking back on it now, thankful that the guy in front of me couldn’t get his life together). I approached the bill and oh no, of course it’s not a $20, you’re in Mill Valley, CA sweetie. It is a $100.00 bill! I found $100.00 on the ground of a gas station!!! Right when I went to reach for it, I thought it was one of those horrible scams where Christians drop something that looks like a million dollar bill that shares the love of Christ on the inside. But this one wasn’t. It was a genuine $100.00 bill. I freaked out, walked over to the car, handed it to Josh, his mouth dropped open, I went back to the window to get my $1.75 (cause that’s how I roll). And then we drove home and talked about how crazy it is that I found 100 bucks!! Who has ever found $100.00 lying on the ground? Does that even happen? I actually felt really bad for the person who dropped it. But I guess if you’re carrying hundred dollar bills around, you can spare it. Just kidding. I really do feel bad. Anyway, we’re excited. We feel like God put us there in that moment to do something, not for ourselves, with the money. It will be cool. So, I recommend you all hang out at the Mill Valley Arco Station.

7 thoughts on “A Land Flowing with Milk and Honey

  1. You lucky girl!! I was laughing the whole time I read this because I would do the same thing. That is so stinking awesome. Go LIZ 😉

  2. i’m pretty sure all you’d find at the Troutdale Arco is a beer can .. which I’d recycle .. because 5 cents would MAKE MY DAY!that’s awesome Howeths! Gas is around $4.15 here now.. yummy

  3. that is amazing! one time i found a $20 and felt like it was the coolest thing ever to happen to me. i think my head would explode with 1$100. i really hope you bought something fun with it 🙂

  4. I found a $10 once and had the same feeling “caro” had. Your Aunt Becky and Uncle Craig found around $300 in Las Vegas. That would be another place to hang out for loose $!!! Good for you.Mom

  5. I’m DYING: “I thought it was one of those horrible scams where Christians drop something that looks like a million dollar bill that shares the love of Christ on the inside.” This comment makes me miss your sister even more. You Tucker Girls are too much! :)With deer-panting faith,Mel

Leave a Reply

