Goodnight Bush

Josh and I were at Borders last night and we were walking past the Political section (I guess) and there was the famous children’s book, “Goodnight Moon” amongst it all…or so I thought…and then I read the title: “Goodnight Bush”.


The book is full of “clever” knocks on Bush and detailed illustrations of his failure as a president. Josh was looking at it when this Borders worker woman came up, uninvited, telling us what a great book this was. She then grabbed one herself and flipped through it, showing us all of the hyperboles… “See, this is a line of cocaine next to Bush’s bedside” “And this is Osama Bin Laden” “And these building blocks on the floor are the Twin Towers” and “Here’s the broken piggy bank b/c his term has depleted the Federal Reserve” and so on and so on. And it was really awkward. She assumed that we were in agreement with this book because she, along with the majority of Marin County, believes that everyone who lives here is a Bush-hater.

When she first started her spiel, I was about to say, “Well, we actually like Bush.” But instead, we just let her show us all of the dumb illustrations. As we walked away, I thought to myself, “People are ignorant. They just eat what the media feeds them and hate Bush because they paint him to be such an idiot” but then I also realized that I only like Bush b/c he looks like a sweet old uncle who I want to hug and play a round of rummy with. And I like him b/c most evangelical Christians seem to be saying, “Yeah, he’s cool.” And then I realized that I’m pretty ignorant about Bush, too. I really have not followed his presidency enough to make a sound judgment on his success and failures. And whenever I talk to someone about politics, I fully confess that I don’t really know what I’m talking about right up front. This is something that I hope will soon change. I do, however, think that Bush has been given a crap hand. He has been underappreciated, disrespected, ridiculed, and hated. I wonder what other countries think when they look at a country who always despises their leadership. There is such a division. It was the same with Clinton, I, a little 6th grader or whatever I was, was on that bandwagon. Why do we have the word United in the title of our country?

But with all this stuff going on in the world and the idea of no absolute truth existing anywhere. No black or white anymore… just gray… I was encouraged by a quote from C.S. Lewis, “”You must believe that God is separate from the world and that some of the things we see in it are contrary to His will.”

4 thoughts on “Goodnight Bush

  1. Very good thoughts. Indeed our country does not seem very “united” most of the time. The mainline media DEFINITELY gives conservatives a bum rap. It’s difficult at times to be IN the world and not OF the world. Just keep your eyes on HIM.LoveMom

Leave a Reply

