White Is Not the Only Answer

I don’t know what we’re going to do with our new kitchen.

It has really plain and ugly wooden slab cabinet doors. Buying a house is enough of an expense that we definitely don’t have the funds to get new cabinets, so, I guess our 3 options are:

1) Keep the cabinets as they are for now but get new hardware (since the hardware on there now reminds me of a high school science lab or a daycare)
2) Paint the cabinets
3) Just get new (inexpensive) cabinet doors and not full cabinets



But something I’ve been thinking about lately is white paint. A lot of people update their kitchens by painting the cabinets white and I love this look. It is fresh and bright and modern. However, I think 10, 15, 20 years from now, people are going to look back on our design and ask, “Why did they paint over everything with white paint?!”

For example, I found this on a new blog that I’ve been looking at lately that is super fun.
But here is a kitchen makeover that I think was a big waste! Both kitchens looks great but she had really nice wood cabinets to start with and she covered them up with white paint! I just think there’s something to say about the character that real wood brings and I think it’s weird we’re always painting over it. Feel free to disagree with me.


We very well might paint our cabinets but we probably won’t go with white, only because the counters, the appliances, the floors and the backsplash are already light in color. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

