Beefy Lentil Soup

Ok, I am not starting a cooking blog but I just wanted to share this super yummy soup recipe of my mom’s because….well….it’s amazing. And it’s a great dish for this time of the year and it’s loaded with veggies and Tucker loves it and it freezes great and it’s even better the next day b/c all of the flavors have saturated into each other! Ok, enough of that. Here it is. Make it:

1 lb ground beef
1 cup dried lentils, rinsed
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup chopped cabbage (I never have this on hand, so, I skip this one)
1 green pepper (When I made this yesterday, I only had a red pepper, so, I used that. Still tasted great)
1 teaspoon salt (You health freaks, don’t cut down on the salt. This makes a BIG ‘OL pot of soup and it needs the flavor. I’m sure my mom puts more than this in b/c hers is always better than mine =)
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 bay leaf (I have chopped bay leaves in my spice rack, so, I just eyeball it)
2 beef bouillon cubes
1 46 ounce can of tomato juice (5 3/4 cup)
4 cups water

Brown ground beef in dutch oven/large pot. Stir in rest of ingredients. Cook over high heat until it comes to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Simmer, uncovered for 1 hour and 30 minutes. (This process also makes your house smell like pure scrumptiousness. Have your friends over while it’s cooking and tell them they can’t have any) Stir occasionally.

This is the way I usually cook the soup but yesterday, I tried it in the crock pot. I thought it would be a lot better but it actually tasted the same, despite the fact that the carrots were softer the crock pot route.
*If you go the crock pot route, reduce the water from 4 cups to 2 and brown the beef beforehand in a skillet. Cook 8-10 hrs on low.

Look at all those yummy veggies

After adding the lentils

After dumping in all of the ingredients

Ready to incubate

Pure deliciousness. This was bowl #1 for me.

Leave a Reply

