quenching the ache in my soul

I love the cello.

I love it so much, I honestly almost cry every time I hear one.

I almost cried yesterday in Josh’s office when I was talking to him about it.

If I could be anything, I would BE a cello. Just kidding. But I love it almost that much.

So, I’ve always adored it and appreciated it and hoped I could someday become friends with someone who played it. Or maybe make one of my kids play it so I could sit and enjoy it all the time. And cry all the time.

But in the back of my head, I’ve always wanted it to be something I play. To not just appreciate it but to participate in it. I know that sounds like I was trying to come up with some cheesy tagline but that’s really how I feel about it. I don’t want to just love it.

So, I don’t really know what happened. I guess I just decided it was a good time. Yesterday I made a few phone calls and come next Friday, I will be starting my first cello lesson.

It’s funny really, because up until today when I went to pick up the cello I’m renting, I had never even touched one before. And I have never played a musical instrument in my life. I’ve tried learning how to play the guitar twice (the easiest instrument to learn, I hear) and gave up after like 5 minutes because I couldn’t believe how hard it was. I’m one of those people, who, if I’m not good at something immediately, I give up. So, I’m not good at much =)

So, this will be a very stretching thing for me and I can’t wait. I might be horrible. I might hate it. But I don’t care. I’m doing it. I’m doing something I always wrote off as something I couldn’t do and that’s an exhilarating feeling.

I’ll let you know how the first lesson goes =)


My new baby. I should name her. And yes, she’s a girl because she’s beautiful and curvy and makes sweet, sweet music.

5 thoughts on “quenching the ache in my soul

  1. WOOOHOOO! This is exciting and inspiring. I think we all have things we really want to try but we are nervous to actually do it so good for you!! That is so fun..can't wait to hear how it goes:)

  2. i think you should listen to The Village soundtrack on your ipod, while playing your cello. It will give you confidence!

  3. How fun! I had the same experience with the guitar and played the violin as a child but it always made my ears hurt. I love the mellow but powerful sound of the cello! Much luck to you:) We had so much fun catching up with you guys!!! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

