First Cello Lesson

This morning at 10 I had my first lesson! I was a little nervous but not as nervous as I thought I would be. I really like my instructor…patient, laid back, explains things well. And she lives like 3 blocks away, so, it was meant to be.

We worked on cords and wow, my hands have some training to do. She would be like, “Ok, you need to move your pinky down a little” and I literally couldn’t do it. My pinky would just sit there and ignore me. But it was nice. I’m usually really hard on myself and I tried to resist that. I just kept telling myself that I’ve never done anything like this and it’s totally ok to be struggling with it. Yes. I give myself pep-talks. =)

So, toward the end she asked if I wanted to learn how to hold my bow (up until that point we had just been playing pizzicato…and yes I had to google the spelling of that word) and I was like “yes!” I’ve had the cello at my house for nearly a week and I get it out almost every day…just to touch it =) but I have no idea what to do with it. So, she showed me how to hold the bow and taught me how to play “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”. It was so fun to actually play a melody!

And just now, I was practicing and I asked Tucker to tell me what song it was I was playing and he shouts, “ABC!!” (same melody) So, I don’t know if that makes him cool for not even being 3 and being able to recognize it or if it makes me cool because a 3 year-old could actually make out the melody I was trying to play. Ha! Maybe we’re both cool.

So, anyway, it’s hard and it gives me such respect and awe for people who can actually play the cello (or any instrument, for that matter) but I just need to take baby steps and stick with it.

Thanks for reading! This is a really fun endeavor for me, so, I like talking about it =)

6 thoughts on “First Cello Lesson

Leave a Reply

