Tomato Soup

I just made this soup tonight and it was pretty darn good. Strangely, I got it out of a People magazine and it comes from Lady Gaga.

Not my picture but this is pretty much what my soup looked like

Tomato Soup
Servings: Not sure but it was just enough to feed Josh, Tuck and I

2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 stalk celery
1 clove garlic, minced (I did 2 because I like to live on the edge)
1 fennel bulb, chopped (I used half of one because it was huge and cost $3.99)
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 cup low sodium chicken broth
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (I used one tablespoon of dry basil)
2 tablespoons chopped parsley (first time buying fresh parsley, whoop whoop!)
Salt and Pepper to taste (be sure to add this, otherwise it will be pretty bland)

Heat olive oil over medium heat, add onion, celery, garlic and fennel. Cook until tender. About 10 minutes.

Add tomatoes and broth; simmer 4 minutes. Remove. Add basil and parsley. Cool slightly. Puree in blender. Season to taste.

I love making soup but I feel like they can sometimes be time-consuming because of all the vegetable chopping. This soup came together super fast because I knew I would be pureeing it all, so I chopped each vegetable very minimally.

I cut, buttered and broiled some yummy wheat rolls until they were crisp and they were great for dipping in the soup.

Josh, who doesn’t even like tomatoes, loved this soup. I like how it’s all pureed, this way it doesn’t feel like you’re eating blood clots or something (stewed tomatoes). I think the pureeing also makes it more kid-friendly.

Happy Eating!

2 thoughts on “Tomato Soup

  1. nasty. blood clots?! yuck. now I’m going to think that every time I eat a stewed tomato:) this soup does sound good. lady gaga’s dad is a chef, right? i think he has a restaurant and i heard gaga loves to cook and she’s really good. who’d a thunk?!

  2. Good for you. I’m not always real good about trying new recipes I would really like to try. And you did it so soon. You just cut that out this last weekend when we were all together.

Leave a Reply

